Which University Courses Does Nsfas Cover?

Please share this article


Are you looking for funds to help with your tertiary studies? The National Student Financial Aid Scheme, or NSFAS for short, might be the solution. Have a closer look to see which courses they approve funding for and which ones they don't.


As any one who has pursued tertiary studies will tell you, funding is the most crucial part of ensuring that students complete their studies. This is particularly the case for aspiring students who come from historically disadvantaged households.

Under the mandate of the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) is the means through which the government bridges this gap by providing funding to this cohort of students.

However, there are certain limitations to which courses and course levels are considered eligible for funding by NSFAS. The bursary scheme funds all undergraduate qualification programs at all the country’s public higher learning institutions with the exception of few as it may be determined by NSFAS as per the available funding of the academic year. 

University courses not funded by NSFAS include the following: Short courses, courses offered at a private college or private higher education institution and part-time studies.

Postgraduate courses and a second undergraduate qualification are also included in the list of qualifications for which NSFAS will not provide funding.

Additionally, if and when a NSFAS student change their course, they will be required to notify the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) of their change of academic records, courses of study, or institution for that matter. This helps NSFAS to update their records in their system so that they can continue to provide funding.

University courses funded by NSFAS

  • Certificate qualifications - registered on NQF Level 5 and have a qualification type of Higher Certificate or National Higher Certificate.
  • Undergraduate qualifications - NQF Level 6 and have a qualification type of Advanced Certificate, Diploma (minimum course credits of 240), Diploma (minimum course credits of 360) or National Diploma, or NQF Level 7 or 8 and have a qualification type of National First Degree, or National First Degree (minimum course credits of 480).


WhatsApp Channel

Sponsored Ad



Google News

Post-Matric Options


After completing your matric certificate exams, you are faced with a multitude of post-matric options that can shape your future paths.

These options range from pursuing higher education at universities or colleges, entering vocational training programs, joining the workforce, or even considering entrepreneurial ventures, each offering unique opportunities for personal and professional growth.

You've probably been contemplating the next chapter of your life all throughout the year asking yourself, 'what am I going to study after I finish completing my matric certificate exams?', 'am I going to study? What else can I do when I pass'? Well, we can help.


Where to Study


Other Articles

The Central Applications Office (CAO) has now opened applications for 2025 first semester. Apply now!


Latest SASSA articles

The South African Social Security Agency(Sassa) is still in the process of paying out the R350 grant to all qualifying applicants. However, if you are curious as to which grant payment collection methods Sassa currently has in place, then the following answer may be of interest to you. 

The President has confirmed that the SRD Grant is here to stay - and is going to be improved. So its still worth submitting an appeal if you were rejected unfairly for the R350 grant. Here is how the process you should follow and details on how long you can expect to wait. 


Careers Advice

A career as a flight attendant can provide many opportunities, such as allowing you to travel, see the world and meet tons of people from different walks of life. Here is everything you need to know if you're considering this as a career option.