Department Releases New 2022 School Calendar

The Department of Basic Education's Minister, Angie Motshekga, signed off and released the latest school calendar set for 2022.  The calendar breaks down how the department will divide school work over the course of 43 weeks.


The new calendar for the 2022 school year has been released by the Department of Basic Education.

The 2021 school year will commence on 19 January for Coastal Cluster schools and on 12 January for Inland schools, as announced by Minister Angie Motshekga. The calendar shows just 199 school days, with a limited number of school holidays. 

Inland schools will have 199 school days over 43 weeks for the year and Coastal Cluster schools will have the same.

Inland schools covers schools in the Free State, Gauteng, Limpopo, Mpumalanga and North West. Coastal Cluster schools include Eastern Cape, Kwazulu-Natal, Northern Cape and Western Cape schools.

Term dates for Inland schools

  • First Term 12 January - 17 March
  • Second Term 5 April - 24 June
  • Third Term 19 July - 30 September
  • Fourth Term 11 October - 14 December

Term dates for Coastal Cluster schools

  • First Term 19 January - 25 March
  • Second Term 5 April - 24 June
  • Third Term 19 July - 30 September
  • Fourth Term 11 October - 14 December

The school year will therefore end on 14 December for all schools.

This school calendar is only for Public Schools in the country.


Article Category

Other Articles

Are you wanting to apply for SASSA's Grant in Aid but you don't know whether you qualify or not? Well we can help. Keep reading to find out whether you qualify for the SASSA's Grant in Aid. 

The Funza Lushaka Bursary is a program established to support teaching studies and available to qualified students to complete a teaching degree. If you are a UINSA student and you want to find-out if your PGCE qualification will be funded by the Funza Lushaka bursary, we have answers for you.