Which NQF level is Grade 12?


NQF is an abbreviation for National Qualifications Framework which is the South African framework used to arrange levels of learning achievements brought about by South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).  

There are 10 levels of learning achievement and each South African has to identify which level they have acquired in order to know the level of skill they have and where they can go with that qualification.

Grade 12, or Matric, falls under NQF Level 4.

The full list of NQF Levels are as follows:

General and Further Education and Training Qualifications Sub Framework

  • NQF Level 1: A general certificate. Completed grade 9. 
  • NQF Level 2: An elementary certificate. Completed grade 10.
  • NQF Level 3: An intermediate certificate. Completed grade 11.
  • NQF Level 4: A national certificate. Completed grade 12/matric. 

Higher Education Qualification Sub Framework 

  • NQF Level 5: A higher certificate. 
  • NQF Level 6: A diploma. Advanced certificate
  • NQF Level 7: A Bachelor's degree. Advanced diploma. 
  • NQF Level 8: An Honour's degree. Post-graduate diploma. 
  • NQF Level 9: A Master's degree. 
  • NQF Level 10: A Doctoral degree. 

The higher you go, the more qualified you are. The more levels you acquire, the more skilled you are. 

FAQ Categories