Which Universities Are In The Free State?


The Free State is home to excellent tertiary education institutions. Here is a list of the Universities in Free State.


The University of the Free State is over 115 years old and is housed at three campuses in the province, namely Bloemfontein, Qwaqwa, and South Campus.

UFS has more than 40 000 students studying courses offered by the university's 114 different departments. The university is also passionate about sports with 22 different sports available for students. 

UFS offers programmes in the following faculties:

  • Education 
  • Health Sciences 
  • Natural and Agricultural Science 
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Law 
  • Humanities 
  • Theology and Religion 
  • Business School

For information about the University of the Free State, click here.

Central University of Technology (CUT) provides a variety of departments at their campuses, such as Bloemfontein and Welkom Campus. Residences are available near these campuses.

CUT offers the following faculties:

  • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Health and Environmental Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Management Sciences

For information about the Central University of Technology, click here.

The University of South Africa (Unisa) is an open and distance learning university. They have close to 400 000 students currently enrolled from across South Africa, Africa and the world.

The Unisa website states that Unisa is South Africa's most productive University. Their website also claims that close to 50 000 students received certificates, degrees and diplomas annually.

The university offers courses in the following faculties:

  • Accounting Sciences
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Graduate Sciences
  • Law
  • Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
  • Education
  • Human Sciences
  • Science, Engineering and Technology
  • Business Leadership

For information about the University of South Africa, click here.




Other Articles

The Head Boy of Curro Durbanville High School is rejoicing after winning a category award and $1000 prize money at The Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) held in Atlanta, the USA earlier this month.

Stadio is a compilation of four highly prestigious institutions – Southern Business School, Embury Institute for Higher Education, LISOF, and Prestige Academy – with a collective experience of over 100 years in the education sector.



Latest SASSA Articles

South Africa is a country that is not only populated by its local citizens but also refugees who call it home. When it comes to social security, the question arises as to whether refugees can also qualify to receive the Sassa R350 grant. Here is the answer to that question.

Are you wanting to apply for a Sassa grant but need access to your One Time Pin, which is also known as an OTP? Here's a guide on how to access your Sassa OTP to access your form.


Careers Advice

Interviews are part of the recruitment process, and waiting for a response from the company’s recruiter can be stressful. It can be difficult to figure out if you should follow up or move on after your interview.

Diesel mechanics are the people to go to when you want your diesel motor fixed. They are skilled technicians who diagnose and repair damaged motors, making sure that they run properly and efficiently.